Valley Journal
Valley Journal

Latest Headlines

Current Events

Special Sections

What's New?

Send us your news items.

NOTE: All submissions are subject to our Submission Guidelines.

Announcement Forms

Use these forms to send us announcements.

Birth Announcement

Pirates topple last week with ease, prepare to host Divisionals

Hey savvy news reader! Thanks for choosing local. You are now reading
1 of 3 free articles.

Subscribe now to stay in the know!

Already a subscriber? Login now

As a team laden with freshman, “young” is an understatement for the Pirates as they prepare to host the Northwestern A Divisional Wresting Tournament. 

Despite the youth that fills the Pirate wrestling club, experience is abundant as the freshmen bring grappling knowledge to the varsity mats from years of competing in the Little Guy Wrestling circuit. They’ve also picked up knowledge from various wrestling camps and off-season organizations offered to young wrestlers, something that Polson Head Coach Bob Owen says is important to high school wrestling.

“In order to stay up with their competition, they almost have to do (camps),” Owen said.

Owen’s young Pirates are sitting in a second place position in conference and making noise in every event they have competed in with frosh-faced grapplers Cameron Brown (113) and Parker Adler (120).

“Both those two had a lot of experience in our little guy program. They were both very successful and it’s carried over,” Owen said. “They’ve got really good work ethic and are doing very well.

Also adding to the Pirate lineup are juniors Mike Corrigan (205) and Tele Seemann (170). Corrigan packs a flawless conference record and Seemann only has a single loss in conference against last year’s State champ. 

After a week of wins, the Pirates are looking to be on track to bring some excitement to the Divisional tourney, especially if they go in with the victorious confidence they showed at their last two meets.

At Frenchtown on Thursday, the Pirates came away with a 39-15 team win over the Broncs with the help of four pins coming from 

Brown, Adler, Seemann and Corrigan; Mateo Quinones (103), Thunder Morales (126) and Skylar Knutson (138) earned wins by decision.

Saturday the Pirates hosted Whitefish and valley neighbor Ronan, posting victories in both duals bouts.

Against Northwestern A rival Whitefish, the Pirates posted a 51 team score over the Bulldog’s 15 in the first duals of the day.

Senior Pirate Alex Helgeson (145) posted the fastest pin at 1:06.

In the nightcap in front of a very loud crowd, the Pirates faced old foe Ronan in a close battle, with Polson coming out on top as a team 42-30.

While Polson won eight of the 13 matches, the Chiefs put up a fight with a quick pin of Helgeson by Ronan Jared Neiss (145) at 1:00. One of the more exciting matches took place between Chief Cole Snyder (126) and Thunder Morales, with Snyder taking control in the 3:22 match by tangling Morales in a hold no grappler could have escaped.

The Chiefs also had success while facing Whitefish, coming out with a crushing 60-9 team win while allowing only two matches to be taken by the Bulldogs.

Five Chief pins helped to raise the score with Neiss posting the fastest at 1:08. Spencer Stagg (103), Trever McAllister (132), Stetson Jore (138) and Snyder were the others logging pins. 

All in all Pirates Coach Owen believes his kids are in a good spot and is looking forward to a home-hosted Divisional tournament coming up next weekend. 

The Pirates’ future is looking bright as the young up-and-comers are just waiting to bust out on to the varsity scene.

“We took a while to figure it out but in the conference we’re holding up pretty well,” Owen said. “Actually, we have come a long ways over the season.”

With more than one Pirate favored to win at the Divisional tournament, the Pirates may see some hit the State mats, but according to Owen the Pirates will still have their work cut out for them.

Northwestern A Divisional action will start Saturday in Polson. Ronan will take a trip to Eureka on Saturday to start the Chiefs’ Divisional postseason contest.




Polson 39, Frenchtown 15

103 –Mateo Quinones (Pol) dec. Caleb Bagnell 11-8

113 - Cameron Brown (Pol) pin Owen Indreland, 1:49

120 - Parker Adler (Pol) pin Cody Warner 5:15

126 - Thunder Morales (Pol) dec. Cade Livoti 7-1

132 - Tyler Ishler (FT) dec. Jaben Wenzel 5-3

138 - Skylar Knutson (Pol) dec. Bryce Williams, 5-1

145 - Jon Blanchard (FT) dec. Alex Helgeson 5-1

152 - Preston Downard (FT) dec. Colton Cote 2-0 

170 - Tele Seemann (Pol) pin Cole Jones 3:11 

205 - Mike Corrigan (Pol) pin Nathan Bennett 3:42

Polson 51, Whitefish 15

103 – Mateo Quinones (Pol) pin Parker McWhirter 1:49

113 – Cameron Brown (Pol) won by forfeit

120 – Parker Alder (Pol) pin James Buckley 1:29

126 – Thunder Morales (Pol) dec. Dillon Thorsteinson 11-5

132 – Jaben Wenzel (Pol) pin Garrett Rice 4:56 

138 – Skylar Knutson (Pol) pin Brooks Krause 2:59

145 – Alex Helgeson (Pol) pin Malik Haydon 1:06

152 – Matt Sampson (WF) dec. Colton Cote 7-4 

160 – Judah Prestegaard (WF) pin Noah Humphrey 2:41

170 – Tele Seemann (Pol) won by forfeit

182 – Double forfeit 

205 – Mike Corrigan (Pol) won by forfeit

285 – Steven Quimby (WF) won by forfeit

Polson 42, Ronan 30

103 – Mateo Quinones (Pol) dec. Spencer Stagg 6-4 OT

113 – Cameron Brown (Pol) dec. Hunter Peterson 5-2

120 – Parker Adler (Pol) pin Seth Cheff 1:55

126 – Cole Snyder (Ron) pin Thunder Morales 3:22

132 – Jaben Wenzel (Pol) pin Trevor McAlister 5:10

138 – Skylar Knutson (Pol) pin Stetson Jore 2:48 

145 – Jared Neiss (Ron) pin Alex Helgeson 1:00

152 – Colton Cote (Pol) pin Steven Michal 1:54

160 – Malik Strange Owl (Ron) pin Noah Humphrey 1:12

170 – Tele Seemann (Pol) pin Grayden Irish 5:00

182 – Ray Little Boy (Ron) won by forfeit

205 – Mike Corrigan (Pol) pinned Louis Gonzales 0:27

285 – Mike Irvine (Ron) won by forfeit 

Ronan 60, Whitefish 9

103 – Spencer Stagg (Ron) pin Parker McWhirter 2:53 

113 – Seth Cheff (Ron) won by forfeit

120 – Hunter Peterson (Ron) dec. James Buckley 11-7

126 – Cole Snyder (Ron) pin Dillon Thorsteinson 1:48

132 – Trevor McAlister (Ron) pin Garrett Rice 2:02

138 – Stetson Jore (Ron) pin Brooks Krause 1:31

145 – Jared Neiss (Ron) pin Malik Haydon 1:08

152 – Matt Sampson (WF) pin Steven Michal 4:40

160 – Judah Prestegaard (WF) dec. Jessie Herrera 8-2

170 – Grayden Irish (Ron) won by forfeit

182 – Ray Little Boy (Ron) won by forfeit

205 – Gray Cook (Ron) won by forfeit

285 – Mike Irvine (Ron) dec. Steven Quimby 6-3



Sponsored by: