Valley Journal
Valley Journal

What's New?

Send us your news items.

NOTE: All submissions are subject to our Submission Guidelines.

Announcement Forms

Use these forms to send us announcements.

Birth Announcement

Current Events

Latest Headlines

Finley re-appointed council chairman

Hey savvy news reader! Thanks for choosing local. You are now reading
1 of 3 free articles.

Subscribe now to stay in the know!

Already a subscriber? Login now

News from the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes

The Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes’ Tribal Council began the New Year by selecting officers to serve for the next two years.

Standing Chairman Vernon Finley was selected to serve for another term as Chair. He had just completed a split-chairmanship with Ron Trahan where both leaders served as Chair for one year. Trahan served as Chair during 2014 with Finley as chair in 2015.

The vote took place in Council Chambers before a crowd of about 100 people who attended the Friday Quarterly Meeting held Jan. 1. A Council Chair is selected every two years by the 10 members of Council.

Serving as Vice Chair will be Leonard Twoteeth, who was elected to Council in 2014 to represent the Elmo District.

Two of the three newly elected members of council were selected for the remaining officer positions.

Troy Felsman from Arlee District will serve as Secretary, and Anita Matt from the Dixon District will serve as Treasurer.

The third newly elected Council member was Dennis Clairmont from the Pablo District. Ron Trahan and Leonard Gray were re-elected to Council in the December General Election. The next General Election will be held December 2017.

Council terms are four years. Every two years, five members are up for re-election. Three new Council members and seven standing members were sworn in on Friday.

A key issue for Council in 2016 will be the CSKT Water Compact as it works through Congress. Language, culture, economic development, and natural resource management will also be key areas of focus.

Sponsored by: