Valley Journal
Valley Journal

This Week’s e-Edition

Current Events

Latest Headlines

What's New?

Send us your news items.

NOTE: All submissions are subject to our Submission Guidelines.

Announcement Forms

Use these forms to send us announcements.

Birth Announcement

Charlo Schools celebrate commencement, remember classmate

Hey savvy news reader! Thanks for choosing local. You are now reading
1 of 3 free articles.

Subscribe now to stay in the know!

Already a subscriber? Login now

CHARLO – Inside the gymnasium at the Charlo High School, a crowd of more than 400 gathered to cheer and support their graduating seniors on Sunday afternoon.

Graduates and their loved ones listened to comments from valedictorian Brooklyn Foust, salutatorian Aislynn Love and special guest Mrs. Reheanna Fultz before a presentation of diplomas.

Love thanked her fellow graduates for “all the fun, crazy and ridiculous memories” and wished them “nothing but the best” as they set out into the world, while Foust encouraged her classmates to “live your life to the fullest.” 

Special guest speaker Mrs. Fultz conveyed to the class that she would have loved to give a “grand speech helping them prepare for the real world, but the truth is you are ready.” 

She went on to remind the seniors they could be successful if they remember to: stay focused, never underestimate yourself, laugh often, persevere and show compassion.

As the senior class exited the ceremony each student gave the father of former classmate Brett Krantz, who died in a car accident in 2015, a hug. The class also presented Brett’s father Max with a rose bush to plant in his son's memory.


Charlo High School Class of 2018

Shad Robert Anderson

Paije Mercedez Bauer

Tyla Marshele Castor

Kalista Kay Clark

Clayton Kelly DeLong

Brooklyn Ashley Foust

Brandy Lee Fryberger

Sakoya Rae Gaustad

Sierra June Hutchin

Chandler Michael Krahn

Aislynn Marie Love 

Logan Edward Mock

Joelee Nichole Nelson

Brooke Rayann Nentwig

Rowdy James Nentwig

Toby Lee Odom

Sabin Morgan Perry

Tyson Gregory Petticrew

Ciara Jean Roberts

Devon Anthony Siech

Hallie Jo Sohr

Dylan James Stevens

Baily Ross Weible 

Brett Christopher Krantz (In Memoriam)

Scholarship Recipients

Tyla Castor: Charlo Perpetual $1000

Brooklyn Foust: MSU Premier Scholarship $2500, Wendy’s High School Heisman (Each year one female and one male in the state of Montana is selected for this award, this year Brooklyn was the female representative for Montana along with being awarded this scholarship) $1000, Blackfoot Telephone Company $1000, Elks MVS Foundation $1000, Kenneth and Norma Trietsch $2800, Charlo Perpetual $1000, Valley Banksn TBD, Rocky Mountain Twist $250, Phyllis Stivers Memorial Scholarship $300

Brady Fryberger: Fupps Basketball Brawl Scholarship $1000, Les Schwab Scholarship $100, Elks Foundation Scholarship $1000, Youth Serve Montana $1000, Blackfoot Telephone Company $1000, Montana Academic Achievement Scholarship $1000, Charlyn M. Rogers Memorial $1000, Horatio Alger Scholarship $10,000

Sakoya Gaustad: Valley Banks- TBD

Sierra Hutchin: Blackfoot Telephone Scholarship $1000, Rods Harvest Food $100, Napa Auto Parts $100, Clayton DeVoe Scholarship $5000, Valley Banks TBD, Lake County 4-H Scholarship $500, Shamrock Services $400, Poke the Bear Scholarship TBA

Aislynn Love: Bozeman Premier $1000, Youth Serve Montana $1000, Charlo Perpetual $1000, Kelsey Rollins Memorial Scholarship $1000, Charlyn M. Rogers $1000, Poke the Bear Scholarship TBA, Clayton DeVoe Scholarship $5000

Jaelee Nelson: Ronan Eye Clinic $100, Coulter Automotive $100

Sabin Perry: Elks Club $1000, Elks Club State Finalist $500, John M. Huntsman $8000, Utah State Aggie Scholarship $14,000, Utah State Involvement Scholarship $3000

Tyson Petticrew: Wenatchee Valley Grant $3000, Wenatchee Valley Baseball Scholarship TBD, Valley Banks TBD

Ciara Roberts: Charlo Perpetual $1000, Charlo Lions Club $1000

Devon Siech: MSU Premier $1000, Valley Banks $100, Charlo Grocery $200

Hallie Sohr: MSU Rodeo $8000, MSU Premier $1000, Lake County 4-H $500, St. Luke Community Healthcare $500,  Round Butte Future Stockmen $100, Mountain West Co-op $100, Valley Banks TBD, Montana High School Rodeo $300


Sponsored by: