Valley Journal
Valley Journal

Latest Headlines

Current Events

Special Sections

What's New?

Send us your news items.

NOTE: All submissions are subject to our Submission Guidelines.

Announcement Forms

Use these forms to send us announcements.

Birth Announcement
Engagement Announcement
Wedding Announcement

Cutting loose: 70 Maidens, Chiefs graduate from Ronan

Usually students get their hair cut before graduation, but Ronan High School valedictorian Levi Talsma received a hair cut on stage during his valedictory address, courtesy of two classmates. Talsma donated his long brown hair to Locks of Love and wished his classmates good luck at graduation on June 3.

Although Talsma was a tough act to follow, Aric Cooksley, RHS graduation speaker, said, “You are about to experience a paradigm shift.”

To deal with these changes, he offered life suggestions for the students, encouraging them to enjoy life, dream big, push themselves and focus on the important things, like family and friends.

RHS principal Tom Stack presented the “Big G” award to William Weatherwax. The award honors one student each year who has made great achievement and overcome obstacles or personal adversity.

Graduates earned $612,000 in scholarships, and these were announced by Amy Miller, RHS English teacher.

After the presentation of diplomas, the graduates greeted friends and family on the south lawn of the school. Graduate Robert Faoa’s family and friends placed leis around his neck, and Sika Ulutoa led a group honoring Faoa with a Samoan war chant.

Graduates included: Chase Allen, Jordan Allen, Saba Balouch, Tashina Barnaby, Michaela Blevins, Darian Blixt-Leo, Wade Burland, Montana Carey, Maria Charlo, Jerrel Chiefstick, Samara Christopher, Hunter Clairmont, Lindsay Clairmont, Shelby Clairmont, Christopher Clary, Bethany Colman, Taylor Courville, Demetrah Craft, Clint Cramer, Andrew Crenshaw, Payge Delaurenti, Riley Dennis, Meagan Dunkerson, Edmond Dupuis, Robert Faoa, Brianna Frank, Dom Garcia, Robert Gauthier, Justin Gohl, Dustin Goldsby, Ashley Grandchamp, Rachel Hardy, Jack Humphreys, Marcus Hungerford, Matthew Kuntz, Catherine Leafty, Austin Lilly, Kayla Lynch, Madison Marshall, Katelyn Matkovich, Aspen McLeod, Julia Meeks, Amber Metzger, Leonardo Michelin, Dalton Molzhon, Brady Oakland, Christina Richwine, Nathaniel Rogers, Dayton Rossetti, Tashiana Schlensker, Samuel Shields, Hunter Shima, Jake Skelton, Jess Smith, Seri Smith, Sierra Smith, Citrene Snyder, Tyler Steele, Spencer Sucha, Amber Taber, Levi Talsma, Brianna Tanner, Marley Tanner, Thane Tobol, Ridge Walston, Eric Wartick, William Weatherwax, Daron Whitedirt, Kyle Yankey, and LaShae Zanca.

Sponsored by: