Valley Journal
Valley Journal

Latest Headlines

Current Events

What's New?

Send us your news items.

NOTE: All submissions are subject to our Submission Guidelines.

Announcement Forms

Use these forms to send us announcements.

Birth Announcement

St. Ignatius graduates encouraged to find diamonds

Hey savvy news reader! Thanks for choosing local. You are now reading
1 of 3 free articles.

Subscribe now to stay in the know!

Already a subscriber? Login now

ST. IGNATIUS – Thirty-three students were awarded diplomas at St. Ignatius High School on Saturday afternoon.

Dan Durglo gave the graduation address this year and challenged the graduates to cultivate the elements of their lives as if they were diamonds. He explained that it takes work to create a finished diamond, as anything in life, and everything from relationships to careers can flourish with attention.  

Yvonne Baty was the valedictorian this year. She encouraged the graduates to “be bold” in life. Kylee Wells was the salutatorian, and she thanked the teachers and family for helping the students achieve success.  

Flint McPherson and Afton Brander were each recognized with an outstanding athlete award during the ceremony for their accomplishments. Joann Phillips was honored for her 43 years in teaching. She retires this year. Susan Weaselhead was also celebrated for her 16 years at the school.  

The 2019 St. Ignatius High School graduates include: Tristen Lilly Adams, Matthew Lawrence Anderson, Dharma De’anne Audette, Yvonne Diana Baty, Afton Lynn Brander, Jessica Jo Broughton, Kayden Marie Burke, Patricia Raylynn Christensen, Megan Marie Dillard, Kassidy May Dougherty, Austen Garret Elverud, Justin Curtis Evelo, Cole D. Gilleard, Izyk Scott Gillingham, Precious JoLynn Elaine Girsch, James Thomas Hammond, Mollie Cherie Havens, Jacob Nehemiah Peter Hugs, Maximillion Bazile Koenig, Alexis Emily LaChance, Jordan Isiah Matt, Wacey Hunter McClure, Flint Davis McPherson, Anthony David Neise, Darius Detroit Redstar, Allyson Marie Sherrill, Frankie Dallas Smith, Caitlyn Marie Sorrell, Sierra Renee Stewart, Aaliyah Danielle Stults, Adrianna Nicole Thomas, Lucas Sequoyah Vanderburg and Kylee Emma Wells.



Sponsored by: