Valley Journal
Valley Journal

Latest Headlines

Current Events

What's New?

Send us your news items.

NOTE: All submissions are subject to our Submission Guidelines.

Announcement Forms

Use these forms to send us announcements.

Birth Announcement
Engagement Announcement
Wedding Announcement

Salish Kootenai College commencement celebrated June 8


PABLO — Yamncut drum played as Salish Kootenai College class of 2013 followed Linda King and Wilbert Michel into the Joe McDonald Health and Fitness Center for commencement on June 8.

Jason Smith, former SKC graduate and current Director of Indian Affairs for Montana Governor Steve Bullock, offered graduates a “free fundamental formula for success.”

In his journey, Smith said he relied on his cultural and family relationships, and he advised the class of 2013 to do the same.

“Listen and learn these ways,” Smith said, adding that he travels home to the sweat lodge to relieve stress. 

Smith also advised graduates to find a career and a mentor that inspires them and to keep in touch with SKC friends and to work with more former graduates, Smith said. 

As state director of Indian affairs for Governor Bullock, Smith said, “I feel as prepared as on person can be ... I love this job.”

Interim SKC President Elaine Frank must love her job since she was given a Pendleton blanket in a moving presentation by Virgil Brave Rock, SKC social work department.

“They say leaders are like eagles. You don’t find them in flocks, but one at a time,” said Brave Heart, describing Frank.

Louise Andrew and Catherine Andrew, both raised in Niarada, received SKC honorary degrees. 

Frank said an honorary degree is presented to a person who has made a difference for SKC or shows the essence of what SKC is about.

Then the SKC class of 2013 received their diplomas. Receiving 190 degrees, the SKC class of 2013 180 graduates included: 

Tribal Historic Preservation A.A.

Angela Lukes

Regina Mad Plume

Melanie Manuel

Kathryn McDonald

Hydrology A.A.

Steven Ashley

Robert Davis

Jacob Feistner

Computer Engineering B.S.

Matthew Friedlander

Secondary Science Education B.S.

Adrienna DeCock

Elisabeth DeRoche

Racquel LittlePlume

Trisha Ollinger

Melody Small

Psychology B.A.

Cecilia Arnoux

Tara Avila

George Madman

Jennifer Madruga

Phylicia McDonald

Psychology A.A.

James Barrett

Wayne Burland

Jessica Courville

Brianna Couture

Anita Harrison

Melissa Mock

Kyler Rutz

Gregory Sheumaker

Early Childhood Education B.S.

Donna Pace

Early Childhood Education A.A.

Rachael BigSam

Michelle Brown

SallyAnne Jack

Mary Pierre

Michelle Williamson

Elementary Education B.S.

Lona Burns

Juanita Costilla Sure Chief

Emerald Green

Anastasia Incashola

William MacDonald

M’Lissa McElderry

Michelle Mitchell

Francy Moll

Christopher Morigeau

Heidi Spotted Bear

Elizabeth Tailfeathers

Carla Whitegrass

Elementary Education A.S.

Olivia Asencio

William Bass

Kylie Black

Alicia Deneault

Aimee Dixon

Sunni Dixon

Jamie Fuchs

Melissa Henderson

Cassidy Johnson

Elizabeth Jordan

Kiersten Kautzman

Theresa McNair

Ryon Noland

Dakota Peterson

Christa Red Crow

Paul Succo

Environmental Science Terrestrial B.S.

Burdette Birdinground

Dezerae Lorash

Rheana Marchand

Austin Moran

Jerome O’Brien

Cody Sifford

Environmental Science Terrestrial Resources A.S.

Harvey Sansavere

Environmental Science Fisheries & Wildlife B.S.

Shaylene Piedalue

Thomas Tall Bull

Forestry Wildland Fire B.S.

Carrie Fahlgren-Prewett

Forestry B.S.

Brandon Gerrity

Irene Martinez

Louie Moses

Shaylene Piedalue

John Young

Forestry A.S.

Shawn DeFrance

Bennett Everett, Jr.

Robert Jensen

Bruce Maestas

Rheana Marchand

Kelly O’Bennick

Matthew Weingart

Robert O’Connor

Bachelor of Social Work

Danielle Green

Neil McGill

Elizabeth Swope-Koepplin

Faith Tallwhiteman

Business Entrepreneurship B.A.

Casey Askan

Urban Bear Don’t Walk

Karly Bird

Alicia Ladd

Marshall Pablo

Ronda Quequesah

Business Management A.A.

Karly Bird

Jossie Dick

Shelley Dick

Chanona Greiff

Michael Guilez

Amanda Harriman

Ciera Kennedy

Josh Krump

Abigail Lake

Cody Marchand

Amber Matthews

Nicole Pierre

Beau Prairiebear

Allena Roberts

Alexandria Smith

Brenda Stapley

Natasha Vargas

Candace Weed-Butz

Information Technology B.S.

Chawn DuBack

Brandyn Limberhand

Robert O’Connor

Jessica Parker

Antoine Paul

Information Technology A.S.

Kevin Big Man

Thomas Fleming

Brandyn Limberhand

Robert O’Connor

Robert Sanchez

Information Technology Media Design A.A.S.

Cody Basler

Adrienne Gilson

Joseph Jack

Life Science B.S.

Jamie Cahoon

Was’tewin Smiley

General Science A.S.

Loretta Grey Cloud

Trey Saddler

Blake Wombold

General Studies Pre-Engineering Civil A.S.

Alvin Mitchell, Jr.

Fine Arts A.A.

Kayla Johnson

Liberal Arts A.A.

Kenneth Edmo

Sean Jubb

Randy Ramos

T’Adore Tomeo

Native American Studies A.A.

Ambrose Caye

Native American Studies Certificate of Completion

Christopher Lefthand

Business Technology A.A.S.

Deanna Bates

Alisha Thomas

Isaac Wal

Ilene Well Known

Dental Assisting 

Certificate of Completion

Monica Christ

Tiffany Cole

Felicia Higgins

Cortney Mourlas

Kyani Murphy

Rocky Reynolds

Taylir Schrock

Katelyn Stinger

Office Professions 

Certificate of Completion

Alice Caye

Kaylynne Flett

Jillene Graves

Alyssa Moran

Travis Pierre

Alisha Thomas

Johanna Whiteplume

Medical Office Clerk Certificate of Completion

Alice Caye

Jillene Graves

Shannon Hubert

Alyssa Moran

Travis Pierre

Angelica Shining Double

Alisha Thomas

Jenalei Weatherwax

Johanna Whiteplume

Highway Construction Certificate of Completion

Anthony Chaney

Fabian Deneault

Anthony Evans

Tavian Hando

Brian Heikens

Don Houle

Glenn Jorgenson

Rick Lund

Justin McBroon

Austin McCleary

Alden Running Crane



Lo 52°

Sponsored by: