Valley Journal
Valley Journal

Latest Headlines

Current Events

Special Sections

What's New?

Send us your news items.

NOTE: All submissions are subject to our Submission Guidelines.

Announcement Forms

Use these forms to send us announcements.

Birth Announcement

Charlo graduates 24 students during COVID-19 pandemic

Hey savvy news reader! Thanks for choosing local. You are now reading
1 of 3 free articles.

Subscribe now to stay in the know!

Already a subscriber? Login now

CHARLO – The seniors at Charlo High School graduated on Sunday afternoon during an in-person ceremony that was held outdoors on the school’s football field with social distancing guidelines.

“I want to thank everyone who has gotten us through this crazy year,” said Superintendent Steve Love as he opened the ceremony. 

Participating families were spread out across the field in groups of five to watch their seniors receive diplomas. The ceremony was broadcast live on 99.7 FM and streamed on the school’s Facebook page for those who were unable to attend.

Ginger Zempel gave the graduation address this year. She challenged graduates to take all of life’s experiences and make the best of them by learning and growing.

Shyanne Reum gave the valedictory address saying that the last two months have “been a rollercoaster,” but the graduates have persevered. She was also thankful for the staff, community and families for doing the best they could to make memories that will last a lifetime. Bellicia Hawk was the salutatorian this year. She encouraged her classmates to live their lives to the fullest. After the ceremony, the Charlo graduates received a special community sendoff with a graduation parade that looped around town. 

The 2020 Charlo High School graduates: Isaiah Allik, Kelton Andersen, Raegan Arana, Aspen Bauer, Ethan Diaz, Nick Daugherty, Shelby Desjarlais, Aubrey Dumont, Bridger Foust, Levi Gaustad, Wrangler Gaustad, Hanna Groom, Bellicia Hawk, Chris Lindquist, Destiny Manuel, Cole McKean, Kira McPhail, Paige Odom, Tori Olsen, Shyanne Reum, Riley Richards, Nateesha Rossbach, Bowen Tryon and Hailey Weible.


Sponsored by: