Valley Journal
Valley Journal

This Week’s e-Edition

Current Events

Latest Headlines

What's New?

Send us your news items.

NOTE: All submissions are subject to our Submission Guidelines.

Announcement Forms

Use these forms to send us announcements.

Birth Announcement

Western Class C athletes honored

Hey savvy news reader! Thanks for choosing local. You are now reading
1 of 3 free articles.

Subscribe now to stay in the know!

Already a subscriber? Login now

CHARLO - The Vikings had six football players named to the Class C all-state team, completing a season that saw the Vikings finish 11-2 overall after a loss in the championship game.

Landers Smith, Jared Doty, Kane Shenyer, Trent Dennison, Zane Hafliger and Chandler Krahn were the all-state selections for the Vikings. Arlee’s Ty Tanner also earned a spot on the squad.

Vikings’ sophomore Landers Smith was named the Western Class C Conference’s offensive and defensive most valuable player of the year while acquiring first-team all-conference honors in two different positions, quarterback and inside linebacker.

“I’m just thankful for all the opportunities I had this season,” Vikings quarterback Landers Smith said.

Doty, Shenyer and Dennison also earned first-team honors for both offense and defense.

Hafliger, Hunter McGee, Toby Odom and Tyson Petticrew rounded out the first-team selections for the Vikings.

Krahn was also named to the all-conference second- team and Brady Fryberger was an honorable mention.

Arlee Warriors’ Rylan Crawford was chosen firstteam all-conference as a punt returner.

The Warriors had four all-conference second-team selections led by Ty Tanner, George Shick, Will Mesteth and Colt Brazil.

In volleyball, Bryndle Goyins earned the valley’s lone Class C All-State selection.

Goyins also was chosen along with teammate Carly Hergett to the all-conference first-team, Eden Morin joined the second-team, and Abby Yocum and Ashley Revis earned all-conference honorable mentions.

Lady Vikings Kaitlin Cox and Cheyenne Nagy made the all-conference first-team list and Allie Delaney was an honorable mention

Sponsored by: