Valley Journal
Valley Journal

This Week’s e-Edition

Current Events

Latest Headlines

What's New?

Send us your news items.

NOTE: All submissions are subject to our Submission Guidelines.

Announcement Forms

Use these forms to send us announcements.

Birth Announcement

Elks host annual Hoop Shoot

Hey savvy news reader! Thanks for choosing local. You are now reading
1 of 3 free articles.

Subscribe now to stay in the know!

Already a subscriber? Login now

POLSON — Mission Valley Elks Lodge #1695 held its annual Elks Hoop Shoot on Saturday at the Linderman Gymnasium.

“We were very excited by such a strong turnout. We had a total of 45 boys and girls participate in the free throw competition this year,” said event coordinator David Rensvold. “Competitions were tight in all six categories and we saw some great shooting from the competitors.”  

The Hoop Shoot Competition, which is sponsored by the Elks National Foundation, is completely free for the contestants, and boys and girls are divided into groups according to age. Each child is given time to warm up and shoot practice throws before competing to see who can sink the most free throws out of 25 shots.

The top shooters from each age group then continue on to district competition, joining kids from all over Western Montana for an opportunity to compete at the state level. 


Competition results

Boys:  Coming in first were Karson Glinsman (8-9), Owen Shirtliff (10-11) and Fox Johnson (12-13). Finishing second were Trafford Cox (8-9), Talen Cochran (10-11) and Jaden Mitchell (12-13). Third place went to Zaiden Beaver (8-9), Mikel Padilla (10-11) and Ryatt Maley (12-13).

Girls:  First place finishers were Scarlett Anciaux (8-9), Emily Simonich (10-11) and Johanna Bieber (12-13). Placing second were Kezleigh Monroe (8-9), Serenity Brown (10-11) and Kayle Coles (12-13). Third place went to Peyton Crockett (8-9), Lucy Shear (8-9), Cheyenne Bieber (10-11) and Jamie Newton (12-13).

The District Tournament will be held at the Linderman Gymnasium on Saturday, Jan. 15, 2022, at noon. First placers at Districts will continue on to the State competition in February with the ultimate goal of continuing on to the National competition held in April at the Wintrust Arena in Chicago.


Sponsored by: