Valley Journal
Valley Journal

This Week’s e-Edition

Current Events

Latest Headlines

What's New?

Send us your news items.

NOTE: All submissions are subject to our Submission Guidelines.

Announcement Forms

Use these forms to send us announcements.

Birth Announcement

MTPR podcast receives national award

Hey savvy news reader! Thanks for choosing local. You are now reading
1 of 3 free articles.

Subscribe now to stay in the know!

Already a subscriber? Login now

News  from MT Public Radio, MT PBS

MISSOULA — “Fireline,” a podcast produced by Montana Public Radio in partnership with the University of Montana College of Business, has been named a national winner of the 2022 Edward R. Murrow Awards presented by the Radio Television Digital News Association. These awards recognize more than 100 outlets for outstanding work in digital, radio and television journalism in technical and editorial categories.

UM Associate Professor of Marketing and the Poe Family Distinguished Faculty Fellow is the host and creator of “Fireline,” a six-part series about what wildfire means for the West, our planet, and our way of life. He’s supported by executive producer Nick Mott, editor and producer Victor Yvellez, and digital editor Josh Burnham. The podcast probes the causes and consequences of the increasingly devastating wildfires burning in the U.S. and taps into the experience of firefighters, tribal land managers and climate scientists. 

“We’re very proud of the entire “Fireline” team for this national recognition,” said MTPR General Manager Ray Ekness. “We’re honored that their hard and outstanding work is being rewarded with a national Murrow Award.”

“The Edward R. Murrow Awards are among the most prestigious in journalism,” said RTDNA President and CEO Dan Shelley. “More than 750 Regional Murrow winners advanced to the national competition, and over the past few months, an expert panel of journalists has meticulously reviewed and deliberated over every entry. That’s why I’m confident in saying today’s winners represent the absolute best of the best.”

There were more than 5,200 entries this year. In May, RTDNA recognized winners of the Regional Murrow Awards, which automatically advanced to the national competition. “Thank you to every journalist who played a role in the pieces that were submitted,” said RTDNA Chair Allison McGinley. “Not everyone can be a Murrow Award winner, but all of you make a difference in your communities. Thank you for the work you do.”

Sponsored by: