Valley Journal
Valley Journal

This Week’s e-Edition

Current Events

Latest Headlines

What's New?

Send us your news items.

NOTE: All submissions are subject to our Submission Guidelines.

Announcement Forms

Use these forms to send us announcements.

Birth Announcement

RHS students make All-Northwest music program

Hey savvy news reader! Thanks for choosing local. You are now reading
1 of 3 free articles.

Subscribe now to stay in the know!

Already a subscriber? Login now

News from NAfME

MONTANA — Outstanding music students from Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington and Wyoming have received top honors by being selected to participate in one of our 2023 NAfME All-Northwest performing groups. The students listed below will join over one thousand other outstanding high school student musicians in this gala event.

NAfME All-Northwest high school bands, orchestras and choirs will meet in Bellevue, Washington on Feb. 17-18. They will rehearse and perform in concert under the direction of world-renowned conductors. These All-Northwest musicians were selected from nearly 3000 students who auditioned to participate in this outstanding event, which is managed by the Washington Music Educators Association.

Many professional musicians credit their All-Northwest experience as crucial in their decision to choose music as a career. Thousands of others whose career paths took them in different directions have great memories of participating in this inspiring and motivating musical experience and claim that it was a life-changing experience for them.

Well-known Northwesterners who have participated in past years’ All-Northwest groups include trumpeters Doc Severinson and Allen Vizzutti, Pulitzer Prize-winning editorial cartoonist and columnist David Horsey, 2008 National Teacher of the Year Andrea Peterson, and jazz saxophonist Kenny G.

Students from Ronan High School participating in the upcoming All-Northwest include Heidi Webster in the orchestra on string bass, Zander Becker in choir as a bass, Gordon Stewart in choir as a tenor, and Grace Heiner and Mollie Sydnor in the choir as sopranos. 

Sponsored by: