Valley Journal
Valley Journal

This Week’s e-Edition

Current Events

Latest Headlines

What's New?

Send us your news items.

NOTE: All submissions are subject to our Submission Guidelines.

Announcement Forms

Use these forms to send us announcements.

Birth Announcement

CSKT Tribal Council executive team selected

Hey savvy news reader! Thanks for choosing local. You are now reading
1 of 3 free articles.

Subscribe now to stay in the know!

Already a subscriber? Login now


PABLO — On Jan. 5, 2024, the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribal Council selected Michael Dolson (Hot Springs District), to be the new Tribal Chairman for the Tribes.

Tom McDonald (At-Large District) was selected to be Vice Chairman; Martin Charlo (Pablo District) was selected to continue in a leadership role as Secretary; and Jame Steele, Jr. (St. Ignatius District) was selected as Treasurer. 

Deliberation by the newly seated Tribal Council, and internal voting for the executive leadership, came after the swearing in of recently elected Tribal Council members, with terms through 2028, and that include Michael Dolson; James “Bing” Matt (At-Large District); Martin Charlo; James Steele, Jr.; and Danielle Matt (Dixon District).  

The newly seated join fellow council members, whose terms end in 2026, and include Tom McDonald; Jim Malatare (Arlee District); Jennifer Finley (Polson District); Len Twoteeth (Elmo District); and Carole Lankford (Ronan District).

The executive leadership, including the Chairmanship, is a two-year appointment.

Sponsored by: