Valley Journal
Valley Journal

This Week’s e-Edition

Current Events

Latest Headlines

What's New?

Send us your news items.

NOTE: All submissions are subject to our Submission Guidelines.

Announcement Forms

Use these forms to send us announcements.

Birth Announcement

Local wrestlers go big at divisionals

Hey savvy news reader! Thanks for choosing local. You are now reading
1 of 3 free articles.

Subscribe now to stay in the know!

Already a subscriber? Login now

The Ronan Chiefs won the Western B-C Divisional wrestling title last weekend in Thompson Falls with a team score of 188, while the Mission-Charlo team came in second with 137.

Ronan head coach Cory Johnston said the team had 11 individual qualifiers for state.

“It was awesome,” Johnston said. “Brandon Dumont walked through the 135-pound weight class. He won every match by pin and was never in any danger of losing. He set himself up really well to make a run at the state championship this year ... Good things happen when you win the divisional tournament, so that was awesome.”

Johnston said Quinton Denton (152), Shelby Grant (160), Brandon Dumont (135) and Kyle Lawson (145) all won their classes Saturday and were “completely dominant.” 

“(Denton) came back from a hurt shoulder and pinned his way through, and (Grant) has never wrestled Plant from Arlee and they basically have the same record, but (Grant) went out and handled him pretty well,” Johnston said. “They did really well. The overall reaction is that we just went out and took care of business, but we still have a little farther to go if we want to finish out our goals.”

The St. Ignatius-Charlo team qualified nine wrestlers for the state tournament, including champions Jacen Petersen (171) and Barret Sargent (215). Sargent has lost only one match this season, and Petersen remains undefeated. The two have combined for 62 wins and one loss on the season, defeating 98.4 percent of their opponents. 

“They’ve both had outstanding seasons,” said head coach Lyle Cronk. “Everybody who placed did a fantastic job ... I was pleased with a second-place finish. Obviously, Ronan has a good team this year; they just had a little too much firepower for us to catch up. 

“Our team did an excellent job. I’m really proud of everybody on our team.”

The Polson Pirates placed fourth at the Northwestern A tournament. Carlos Quinones (119) and Craig Feistner (140) both won their weight classes by pin.


Western B-C


Team scores – Ronan 188, St. Ignatius-Charlo (Msn) 137, Thompson Falls 107, Plains-Hot Springs 100, Eureka 92, Florence 68, Arlee 58, Superior 55 1/2, Drummond-Philipsburg 54, Noxon 36, Deer Lodge 25.


Individual results

98 – Chris Carroll, DP, pinned Lena Babcock, TF, :34, championship.

105 – Anthon Parkin, Sup, pinned Morgan Schultz, Msn, 4:38, championship; Kenny Stockard, Sup, third.

112 – Garrett White, Eur, pinned Josh Schmidt, Eur, 3:33, championship; Cole Snyder, Ron, pinned Shea Miller, Flo, :59, consolation.

119 – Zach Durden, Eur, tech. fall Torren Lawson, Flo, 17-1, championship; Jamie Mullins, Msn, dec. Trevar McCallister, Ron, 8-6, consolation.

125 – Russell Kujala, PHS, dec. Connor Rogers, DL, 7-0, championship; Chase Rhine, Ron, pinned Dean Klakken, Flo, 2:20, consolation.

130 – Bridger Lapierre, Sup, maj. dec. Logan Goodwin, PHS, 11-1, championship; Jarrett Pecora, Eur, pinned Daniel Dunlop, Arlee, 1:32, consolation.

135 – Brandon Dumont, Ron, pinned Nikoo Bakkila, Eur, 4:32, championship; Tony Bergerson, DP, pinned Jake Lile, PHS, 3:46, consolation. 140 – John Gunderson, TF, dec. Connor Benn, Ron, 13-11, championship; Colton Bray, TF, pinned Luke Crowe, Nox, 4:39, consolation.

145 – Kyle Lawson, Ron, pinned Austin Rubel, Arl, :45, championship; Ty Pocha, DP, dec. Kyle Couture, Msn, 8-2, consolation.

152 – Quentin Denton, Ron, pinned Steven Bravo, Msn, 3:52, championship; Joe Detienne, PHS, maj. dec. Peydon Prince, DP, 8-0, consolation.

160 – Shelby Grant, Ron, maj. dec. Albert Plant, Arl, 15-6, championship; Lauren Christopher, Ron, Gary Wadman, Nox, 2:09, consolation.

171 – Jacen Peterson, Msn, pinned Davis Lawson, TF, 1:39, championship; Jake Nygaard, TF, pinned Ethan Goss, Msn, :44, consolation. 

189 – Tanner Cobbs, Flo, maj. dec. Colby Roberts, Ron, 14-3, championship; John Garrahy, TF, pinned Joseph Hawkins, Msn, :22, consolation.

215 – Barret Sargent, Msn, maj. dec. Keenan Hendrickson, Flo, 9-1, championship; Emilio Bravo, Msn, pinned John Onofrey, Nox, 1:41, consolation.

Hwt – Ben Gorham, PHS, pinned Braxton Eubanks, TF, :28, championship; Michael Irvine, Ron, pinned Brandon Shea, PHS, 4:42, consolation.


Northwestern A Divisional


Team scores – Columbia Falls 255, Frenchtown 218 1/2, Libby 136, Polson 133, Whitefish 87.


Individual results



98 – Cody Warner, Ftn, maj. dec. Caleb Bagnell, Ftn, 11-0.

105 – Cameron Linstead, CF, pinned Cady Hadeen, Pol, :17.

112 – Shonn Roberts, CF, pinned Tyler Ishler, Ftn, 1:16.

119 – Carlos Quinones, Pol, pinned Haze Bell, CF, 5:13.

125 – Zach Crace, Lib, pinned Dlyan Moll, Pol, :36.

130 – Josiah Osborn, CF, pinned. Colton Gove, CF, :11.

135 – Mitch Haugen, Lib, dec. Cody Lemons, Ftn, 11-5.

140 – Craig Feistner, Pol, pinned Chase Ramberg, CF, 3:03.

145 – Bryan Schaffer, CF, dec. Jack Nerison, Ftn, 6-5.

152 – Logan Fisher, Ftn, dec. Garret Chapel, Lib, 11-9.

160 – Jacob Burgess, CF, pinned Doug Womack, Ftn, 5:32.

171 – David Anderson, Ftn, dec. Austin Bailey, Lib, 5-1.

189 – Sam Gordon, Ftn, pinned Aaron Vick, CF, 1:07.

215 – Zach Dolezal, Lib, dec. Rand Pritzkau, Ftn, 3-1.

Hwt – Wolf Zinke, Wfh, dec. Jordan Zuraff, Ftn, 7-5.



98 – Jordan Hughes, CF, pinned James Buckley, Wfh, :36 

105 – Cameron LInstead, CF, pinned Cody Hadeen, Pol, :17 

112 – Kaleb Gravelin, CF, dec. Jaben Wenzel, Pol, 10-6 

119 – Jon Blachard, Ftn, dec. Alex Helgeson, Pol, 5-4 

125 – Seth McCall, CF, pinned Dalton Nelson, CF, 1:31 

130 – Matt Barton, Wfh, pinned Emmitt Schmidt, Wfh, 2:46 

135 – Skyler Higareda, Lib, dec. Wyhatt Pirce, Wfh, 9-3 

140 – Matthew Sampson, Wfh, dec. Kody Wilson, Ftn, 3-1 

145 – Judah Prestegaard, Wfh, dec. Ricky Roach, Lib, 3-1 

152 – Madison McWhirter, Wfh, dec. Cody Walters, CF, 8-3 

160 – Tel Motichka, Pol, dec. Josh Bowers, Lib, 7-2 

171 – Cameron Peteron, CF, dec. Tel Seemann, Pol, 6-3 

189 – Mike Corrigan, Pol, pinned Patrick Valentin, Lib, 1:48 

215 – Matt Erhart, CF, dec. Isaiah Williams, Pol, 9-8

Hwt – Ross Spencer, CF, dec. Nathan Brennett, Ftn, 5-0.


Sponsored by: