Valley Journal
Valley Journal

What's New?

Send us your news items.

NOTE: All submissions are subject to our Submission Guidelines.

Announcement Forms

Use these forms to send us announcements.

Birth Announcement

Current Events

Special Sections

Latest Headlines

Bulldogs see championship match at State

Hey savvy news reader! Thanks for choosing local. You are now reading
1 of 3 free articles.

Subscribe now to stay in the know!

Already a subscriber? Login now

MISSOULA – Class B-C teams from around the state showed up to Peak Racquet Club Friday and Saturday to duke it out on the courts. Joining the competition were the valley’s own Mission and Ronan varsity teams.

The boys faired the best out of the two teams with Mission’s Karl Daniels making it all the way through to the championship game. Though Daniels pushed hard, he fell after three sets against Loyola Sacred-Heart’s Kalen Christiaens, 4-6, 6-4, 6-2, snagging a second place state finish.

Ronan’s Fisher Shima and doubles team Daniel Aylesworth/Ron Cullis finished sixth for the tournament.

The Bulldogs went home with the third place overall team score of 23 and the Chiefs were fifth with 19.

Lady Bulldogs and Maidens were all knocked out before the quarterfinals. Mission came home with a team score of 3 and Ronan with 2 for the girls.




Team scores - Loyola Sacred Heart 59, Cut Bank 38, Mission 23, Troy 20, Ronan 19, Conrad 17, Bigfork 14, Valley Christian 6, Darby 2.



Kalen Christiaens (LSH) def. Karl Daniels (Mis) 4-6, 6-4, 6-2.

Third place

Isaac Matt (CB) def. Ian Descamps (LSH) 6-1, 6-2.

Fifth place

Tyler Padilla (Con) def. Fisher Shima (Ron) 5-7, 7-3, 6-3.



Teddy Muth/Stephen Sellman (LSH) def. Michael Kraft/Robert Jennings (CB) 6-4, 6-3.

Third place

Adam Jordt/Isaac Martel (BF) def. Zach Burke/Harry Muth (LSH) 1-6, 7-6, 7-6.

Fifth place

Bruce Metz/Luke Haggerty (Troy) def. Daniel Aylesworth/Ron Cullis (Ron) 6-4, 6-1.


Team scores - Chinook 35, Townsend 31, Cut Bank 28, Fairfield-Power 23, Chester/Joplin/Inverness 13, Baker and Choteau 12, Bigfork 11, Loyola and Troy 9, Conrad 7, Superior-Alberton and Wolf Point 5, Valley Christian and Fort Benton 4, Mission 3, Eureka and Ronan 2, Simms, Boulder and Darby 1.


Sponsored by: