Valley Journal
Valley Journal

This Week’s e-Edition

Current Events

Latest Headlines

What's New?

Send us your news items.

NOTE: All submissions are subject to our Submission Guidelines.

Announcement Forms

Use these forms to send us announcements.

Birth Announcement


Polson Schools at a glance

News from the Polson School District POLSON — The Polson School Improvement Committee (PSIC) is a community led committee that believes its greatest strength lies in the unity of our community. The committee was formed to provide long-term assistance in identifying and solving issues that Polson School District is facing. By working together, we can provide a safe learning environment where diverse educational opportunities support an outcome of well-educated, skilled and productive individuals who are ready to contribute to their communities. Action objectives for the committee include improving education at all levels, improving and maintaining facilities and growing community ...

Superintendent Arntzen seeks math standards review task force

News from OPI HELENA – Superintendent Elsie Arntzen is seeking Montanans to participate in the Mathematics Standards Review Task Force. The Montana Board of Public Education approved the opening of the decade-old Math Content Standards, housed in ARM 10.53.501 et seq., for review. The purpose of t...

SNHU announces fall 2022 President’s List

News from SNHU MANCHESTER — It is with great pleasure that Southern New Hampshire University (SNHU) congratulates the following students on being named to the Fall 2022 President’s List.  Full-time undergraduate students who have earned a minimum grade-point average of 3.700 and abov...

FCA speaks at local schools FCA speaks at local schools

POLSON — The Fellowship of Christian Athletes had four representatives from Missoula come speak to Polson High School students on Jan. 11. All four athletes shared intimate details of their journeys and struggles during their athletic careers. They varied from injuries to academic and athletic responsi...

Polson schools address cyber security

News from the Polson School District POLSON — The Polson School District’s Technology Department, which is staffed by three people, supports and maintains the technology used by over 1,700 students and 300 employees. In recent years, the use of technology in education has significantly incre...

Native Woman Program offers grants

News from the Jeannette Rankin Foundation MISSOULA — The Jeannette Rankin Foundation, the national organization dedicated to transforming futures through education, is launching the Native Woman Program for Montana Indigenous students. In its inaugural year, the program will award up to 60 educati...

Polson schools builds new programs

News from Polson Schools POLSON — Polson High School is focusing efforts to build a Computer Science Program to provide exposure and skill development opportunities for students. The new program is in partnership with Project Lead The Way (PLTW). PLTW is a National STEM Curriculum Provider. This y...

Scholarships available for PHS seniors, graduates

News from the Polson Scholarship and Education Foundation POLSON — Scholarships applications are currently available for Polson High School graduates. Any student who is currently enrolled as a senior at Polson High School or as a previous PHS graduate are eligible for these scholarships; provi...

What teacher licensing looked like in 2022 What teacher licensing looked like in 2022

MONTANA — A Montana Office of Public Instruction report released Friday shows notable decreases in 2022 in the number of newly licensed teachers and those obtaining emergency employment authorizations following significant spikes in 2021. According to OPI’s report, the agency approved 1,207 ne...

MFU scholarships available

News from Montana Farmers Union GREAT FALLS — Applications are now open for several Montana Farmers Union scholarships ranging from $500 to $1,000 each. The annual scholarships are offered through MFU as part of the organization’s commitment to education and include the Bud Daniels Memori...

Sponsored by: