Valley Journal
Valley Journal

Latest Headlines

Current Events

Special Sections

What's New?

Send us your news items.

NOTE: All submissions are subject to our Submission Guidelines.

Announcement Forms

Use these forms to send us announcements.

Birth Announcement

sports shorts for May 22, 2019

Hey savvy news reader! Thanks for choosing local. You are now reading
1 of 3 free articles.

Subscribe now to stay in the know!

Already a subscriber? Login now


In Western B-C Divisional softball action in Anaconda on Friday, Mission-Arlee-Charlo (MAC) defeated Anaconda 16-6 in the first round of action. 

Azia-Rain Umphrey went 4-for-4 with a home run and four RBIs to pace MAC at the plate. Also for MAC, Shyanne Reum scored four runs. Caitlyn Sorrell had three RBIs.

In a semifinals matchup against top-seeded Florence, Mac fell 14-4. The MAC bats scored four runs on seven hits. On Saturday in a loser-out game against Manhattan, the season and state playoff hopes came to an end for MAC in a narrow 12-11 loss. MAC batters scored 12 runs on 18 hits. Umphrey had three hits and a home run, while Courtney Mitchell, Reum and Olivia Garland each had a double and two RBIs.


The Polson boys and girls tennis teams both finished second in the team standings during the Northwest A Divisional tennis tournament on Saturday in Kalispell. 

In girls doubles action, Berkley Ellis and Qia Harlan won the title in three sets, 3-6, 7-5, 7-6 (7-1) over Aubrey Hanks and Olivia Potthoff of Whitefish. The Lady Pirates double team of Ara Mercer and Megan Rost won third place with a 6-3, 6-3 win over their opponent. Girls defending state singles champion Lady Pirate Shea McGuinness took third with a 6-0, 6-0 win over Marissa Wood of Libby.

On the boys side of the net, Pirate Joe McDonald placed second, while doubles team of Kendal Forman-Webster and Bridger Wenzel took third place with a 6-4, 5-6, 6-3 win over teammates Anton Lefthand and Trevor Schultz.

The Pirates and Lady Pirates will head back to Kalispell starting Thursday for the State A tennis championships.

Sponsored by: